The WorkerThread Blog

we know stuff so you don't have to

Finding Good Demo Data

Posted by workerthread on January 6, 2007

As someone who regularly needs to find useable demo data I was interested in the data being posted at Swivel, which I found through a post on Chris Webb’s blog.  As he says, unfortunate name though!

While I was looking around on Swivel, I found that one of the datasets was generated via another site I’d never heard of before, FakeNameGenerator.com.  As well as an online generation of single names, they will let you order up to 20,000 fake names and addresses in a variety formats (CSV, Excel, txt etc)  and amazingly the service is currently free if you’re prepared to wait 5-7 days, or $9.95 if you want it in 24 hours.

And for a little light data visualisation relief,  take a look at Jessica Hagy’s Indexed Blog

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
