The WorkerThread Blog

we know stuff so you don't have to

SharePoint Knowledgebase Part 1 – Best Places for Online SharePoint Knowledge

Posted by workerthread on January 30, 2009

Looking back on stats for the past 12 months, by far the most popular search terms which took people to this blog relate to some combination of PDF, iFilter, WSS, MOSS etc and these visitors click through to one of the PDF related posts here, here and here

But next up come searches for some variant of “SharePoint Knowledgebase”, which find the blog through a little mention I gave to SharePointKB.org.  So I got to thinking, what are these people searching for?  Are they looking for an online knowledgebase containing the information they need about SharePoint?  Or are they looking to set up a knowledgebase site on their own SharePoint installation? 

If you are one of those searching, please post a comment and let me know what you were looking for.  In the meantime, I thought I would put together posts on the two different possibilities – best places to look online for SharePoint information (this post) and a follow up later on options for setting up your own knowledgebase site.

So, here’s a brief list of places I like to look for SharePoint information, how-tos and general knowledge:

End User SharePoint – Mark Miller’s “No Geekspeak on SharePoint” site has gone from strength to strength over the past year, and I probably have more SharePoint bookmarks from posts here than any other.  Excellent coverage of the sort of topics end users and new SharePoint adopters need to know about and excellent guest contributors.  Also if you sign up for the weekly newsletter, you get access to lots of extras and downloads.

Microsoft’s End User “Get the Point” blog – This team produces content for end users, recent excellent posts on SharePoint lists, slide libraries and using an Issues List.

SharePoint Magazine – an online magazine dedicated to SharePoint, often publishing longer articles or series on specific topics.  My favourite is Paul Culmsee’s series of InfoPath articles on the Humble Leave Form.

SharePoint User Group UK – although based in the UK, online members from all over (4,743 at last count).  Very active forums, member questions frequently answered by well respected SharePoint MVPs.  And if like me you are based in the UK I can recommend the group’s regular meetings.

So if you came here looking for SharePoint knowledge, I hope these links help.  Next time I will talk about options for creating a knowledgebase site on your own SharePoint installation.

Technorati tags: ,
13 Responses to “SharePoint Knowledgebase Part 1 – Best Places for Online SharePoint Knowledge”

  1. [...] SharePoint Knowledgebase Part 1 – Best Places for Online SharePoint Knowledge (Worker Thread Blog)Looking back on stats for the past 12 months, by far the most popular search terms which took people to this blog relate to some combination of PDF, iFilter, WSS, MOSS etc and these visitors click through to one of the PDF related posts here, here and here. [...]

  2. Trudy H said

    Thank you for this post. I am a one woman sharepoint show here, and I am always looking for information. It seems like it should be easy to get the information you need, but I am constantly running into issues where I can never seem to find clear, useful information, and leaving posts on many of the forums so often go unanswered.

  3. [...] Knowledgebase Part 2 – Creating a Knowledge Base Site In part 1 I talked about my favourite SharePoint Knowledge Base sites, places I look to frequently for [...]

  4. J said

    I stumbled across this site looking for information on how to tweak the Search feature of a SharePoint KB.

  5. bob said

    I found your site while searching for the latter option. I’m looking for info about using SharePoint to build a customer-facing knowledgebase.

  6. Rita said

    I am interested in starting a knowledge base for our department. We don’t have one already.

  7. Chris said

    I found your blog via a search on knowledgebase. WHat I’m after is some more information on how the template functions. I’ve got one set up and am starting to use it, but don’t see how the keywording is helpng any yet.

  8. lew said

    I am looking to set up a knowledge base for myself and my department.

  9. michelle said

    I am in the latter category: “looking to set up a knowledgebase site on their own SharePoint installation” ; in this case, it would be on the SharePoint 2010 platform.

    • Hi Michelle

      There are lots of SP2010 features which will help in setting up an online knowledgebase. I’ve noticed quite a lot of traffic from people searching for “SharePoint Knowledgebase” recently so I’m planning a new post on these features.

  10. stephen said

    I’m searching for information to create a knowledgebase system for my department using Sharepoint.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
